Bowery Lane | CBD, Sydney

I don’t usually venture to the Wynard/Martin Place area, except to change buses. But of course, food is a motivator. Because of food, I got my lazy ass off my bed, did some exercise (i.e. walk to the bus stop) and explored a place I hardly visit. Food, you bring the best out of me.

By the time we arrived at Bowery Lane, it was 11.27am which was apparently not a great time because the kitchen was closed from 11.30am-12.00pm. It confused me to think that a restaurant would be open but not have an operating kitchen, especially during a relatively busy time. Needless to say… I was getting a little ‘hangry’ at that point in time. 

Fancy table layout.

Even though Bowery Lane and I had a rough start, I really did enjoy the atmosphere and vibe of the whole place. I was especially impressed at the rate they refilled our cups of water and the sweet music playlist. Eating while listening to Ed Sheeran? Not bad.

More random photos to make my blog seem less wordy.

After a few minutes of indecisiveness, we finally locked in our choices and waited for the clock to tick.

Seared Scallops – $22.00

Half an hour later and… FINALLY! Say hello to this glorious masterpiece: these Seared Scallops were quite different to anything I have tasted before. With a strong Japanese flavour to it, the yuzu mayo (which was amazing by itself), fresh king mushroom, wakame and lightly seared scallops came together really well. We cleaned the plate in a matter of minutes!

Jumbo Quail – $21.00

I love birds: as a fascinating animal and as a meat. I don’t get to eat a lot of quail so when I do, it’s a big treat! With an amazing, creamy truffle polenta base and strips of asparagus, the tenderness of the quail really shined through. What I loved most about these entree dishes was that they were actually decently sized and awesome to share.

Whole Roasted Field Mushrooms – $26.00

This was one of those dishes where I sneakily convinced one of my friends to get it because I wanted to try it. Sorry friend, you were my test subject. But it was all good in the end cause this Whole Roasted Field Mushrooms dish was actually pretty nice, right? The goats curd on top gave it a really unique, salty yet creamy flavour and texture. And the mixture of kale, asparagus, carrot and mushrooms made it a really filling yet healthy lunch option! Most of Bowery Lane’s menu items can be a little overwhelming as they are quite meaty and carb-y, so this is a great vegetarian alternative for those who want to go easy on their stomach but still enjoy a delicious feast.

Tempura Soft Shell Crab Burger – $23.00

Rumour has it – this is one of Bowery Lane’s most well-known dishes. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to judge it myself but based on the comments my friend made, it was pretty mediocre. The soft shell crab itself had more batter than meat which was disappointing… but the miso mayonnaise was addictive!

New York Cheeseburger – $19.00

“Let’s keep our weight down before my Japan trip,” I said… but how could I resist when there’s a delicious sounding cheeseburger right in from of me?! A juicy, tender and greasy cheeseburger can make me weak at the knees.

Sadly, this cheeseburger was neither juicy, tender or greasy (though, I suppose this is a good thing for most people). Firstly, the buns were a bit cold (even though they were grilled) and bit too big for my liking. The highlight of this burger was probably the wagyu patty: medium rare and tender. You’d think the cheese would be the highlight of a cheeseburger but it wasn’t the case for this one. The cheese didn’t melt properly, with the texture being quite inconsistent. The edge of the cheese was a little hard and to be honest, I could hardly taste it in the midst of all the other ingredients and big bun.

Nice, crispy fries, though.

Thank you Bowery!

CONCLUSION: Bowery Lane is a sophisticated but relaxed restaurant, making it the perfect lunch break spot for those working around the Wynard area. That being said, its prices are a little higher (though still affordable) than normal, probably because of the lovely atmosphere and service. While my friends and I really enjoyed the entrees, the more hyped up dishes like the two burgers were a bit disappointing. Even though my first experience at Bowery Lane wasn’t as great as expected, I would still love to come in and try their breakfast and dinner menu!

P.S. It’s safe to book in advance! We went on a Thursday at 11.30am and were lucky to even get a seat.

Address: Shop 1, Level 4, The Wintergarden, 1 O’Connell Street, CBD, Sydney, NSW

Opening Hours: Mon-Fri: 7AM – 10PM, Sat: 5.30PM – 10PM, Closed Sundays

Click to add a blog post for Bowery Lane on Zomato

Leave a Reply

