Gumshara Ramen | Haymarket, Sydney

Before I begin the review, I just want to emphasise that I was severely ramen-deprived before going to Gumshara so this might be a little biased. Like, I wanted ramen so badly I had trouble sleeping. Not even joking.

Let’s revisit the first time I had Gumshara: it was a depressing day until Sydney Trains e-mailed to tell me they had found my phone (which I lost anyway in Queensland later that year…) Almost immediately, I hopped on the train to Central to fetch my baby (my phone) and the most logical thing to do after was to celebrate the miracle with a bowl of ramen. At that point, I had been hearing so many great things about Gumshara, I knew I had to go. Even if it was by myself… but don’t worry, this time I dragged a friend to come with me.

Can I just have it all?

For those who have never gone to Gumshara, it is located in the Dixon Food Court in Chinatown. I have always found it amazing that this small, humble ramen joint doesn’t even have a restaurant front but it still gathers people from all over Sydney. Proudly advertising that they serve MSG-free ramen, the flavour from the broth is the result of many hours of extraction directly from the source.

Gyoza – $5.50

We got gyoza as well, because… well, why not? It was nothing special and I do wish that it had a little more crunch and more meat. But hey, we’re here for the ramen!

Garlic Tonkotsu Ramen – $11.50

Other than the fact that it gives me garlic breath, black garlic and tonkotsu is probably one of the best combinations for a ramen soup base. This was my first time trying Gumshara’s thicker broth options and WOW – I seriously underestimated how thick it was. I hope no one hates me for this, but the broth was a little bland which is completely understandable because there is no added MSG. However, the pork slices in this ramen was deliciously tender and became the highlight of my whole day!

BBQ Pork Ramen Noodle – $14.00 + Seasoned Boiled Egg – $1.50

Here’s another ramen for those who just want a great, classic option. This one had plentiful pork slices for you meat lovers (i.e. me).

Look at that yolk oozing out of that perfectly seasoned egg!!

A short review but hope you guys enjoyed it either way!

CONCLUSION: I often see Gumshara on the ‘Best Ramen of Sydney’ rankings on sites like Urbanlist and GoodFood. For many people, it was worth the hype and I see them going to Gumshara almost every week. As for me, probably not. Not that it was bad in any way, it is simply a case of personal preference. I respect how meticulously crafted the broth is and I believe that they deserve all the attention they are getting but there are many other ramen places in Sydney that have already won my heart. However, I still think that this is a place that every ramen lover should visit! Do it for the broth and the pork slices, guys.

Address: Shop 211 25-29 Dixon St, Haymarket

Click to add a blog post for Gumshara Ramen on Zomato

Leave a Reply

