This Month on Instagram (March 2015)

Confession time: I am a terrible food blogger (well, is that even surprising?). The fact that this wasn’t posted 2 days ago as planned, is evidence.

But seriously, I have so many awful habits that would get me disqualified if food blogging was a sport. Forgetting my SD card, not charging my battery or forgetting my DSLR altogether are just some of them. In sad times like these where I have no camera, I resort to my beloved phone.

Instagram is the platform I throw all my phone photos, filter the crap out of them and spam with #hashtags. Instagram posts takes 2 minutes while posts on this blog can take up to 2 hrs! Don’t blame me for being lazy, it’s just natural! Even though I slack off on Instagram, it deserves a little more attention because the food I mention there is seriously good! So for those who are missing out on my Instagram spam, I thought I could compile a list of the food highlights of last month (March) and share the deliciousness with you all.

insta1
Avocado on Toast | Avocado Smoothie | Iced Thai Milk Tea | Baked Eggs

Moustache Cafe | Manly 

I ACTUALLY HATE MYSELF FOR NOT BEING ABLE TO WRITE A FULL REVIEW ON THIS! Why, oh why, did my DSLR have to die just before I eat? If I lived near Manly, this would be the cafe I frequent. Moustache Cafe (super cute name, not going to lie) serves Thai-inspired breakfast food and sandwiches – now that’s something to celebrate. The baked eggs had a strong but aromatic Asian quality to it, with lots of spices and flavour to make up for the small(ish) portion. Definitely the most unique twist on the traditional baked eggs and one of the best I’ve had in Sydney! I honestly only have good things to say about this cafe.

Moustache Cafe on Urbanspoon

insta5
Sea Salt/Creaming Soda | Sea Salt/Watermelon

Aqua S | CBD

If you’re on Instagram as much as I am, drooling over food, then you know how much Instagram-attention Aqua S has gotten. Seriously, my Instagram feed was flooded with images of the same soft serve against against the same aqua wall. That being said, I jumped on the Aqua S bandwagon almost immediately and it’s actually surprising how many times I have visited this place ever since. Even though it’s a little overhyped, one can’t deny that the new flavours released every two weeks lures you back in. Some of the flavours win, while the majority of them, I give them a ‘nice try’ sticker. However, I am glad they kept the sea salt consistent because it keeps me coming! My advice is to just get the soft serve by itself ($3.80) since the toppings are more of a novelty. I actually noticed a lot of people getting full from just the small soft serve, so maybe share if you feel like you’ll be one of them! You’ll be surprised, the portions are pretty generous.

Aqua S on Urbanspoon

insta6
Washoku Lovers Set

Mappen | CBD

For me, Mappen is the epitome of ‘uni-student food’: quick, relatively cheap, filling and easily accessible. The amazing thing about this set is that you can get all this for under $10, if you are a member of Washoku Lovers (which is also free, by the way!), an organisation that simply wants to expand Japanese food culture. Honestly, this is a great way to avoid the torture of choosing just one and just get it all instead!

Menya Mappen on Urbanspoon

insta7
Peri Peri Chicken Gozleme

Gozleme King | Hornsby Markets (Thursday)

My high school was a perfect place to foster my ever-growing love for food. Located right opposite a shopping centre means I had way too many options for lunch and not enough money to satisfy them all. But this was my favourite. Every Thursday, Hornsby would hold some markets that sold fresh foods, hand-made goods, plants and food stalls. Gozleme King is one of these food stalls that come every Thursday and gather a hungry crowd. I like to think this gozleme helped me through strenuous times and comforted me in times of need. This hot, juicy, cheesy pocket of glory will be your best friend, especially on those cold Winter days.

Thank you Gozleme King for getting me through HSC.

insta8
Sweet Potato Fries with Super Sauce

Got Fries? | Chatswood Markets (Thursdays and Fridays)

Woah – more markets! Markets are a great way to gather people in a central area, who are all curious or just hungry. Usually, I avoid crowded places, but being surrounded by food, creativity and music isn’t half bad. Even more so when you discover a new vendor on the street! Got Fries? is exactly what its name suggests: a stall that sells a variety of seasoned potato chips such as GoGo Garlic, BBQ Chicken and Vinegar. After a little debate with my little brother, we settled on a mutual decision to get the Sweet Potato Fries with Himalayan Pink Salt. While I definitely prefer normal potato fries, this was a nice change – especially with the Super Sauce, which is a combination of mayonnaise, tomato sauce and mustard. Mmmmmm…. yes. Will be back to try the others!

insta9
Green Salad | Pork Belly | Steak

Bavarian Bier Cafe | Chatswood

German food has to be one of my favourite cuisines simply because their food is so meat-centric! Also, they have great bier. Bavarian Bier Cafe is the place to go whenever you want juicy, tender meat or to just relax on a Friday night with your friends. The Germans know best. It’s on the pricier side of things, but their steak is pretty great.

Bavarian Bier Cafe on Urbanspoon

lol1
Black Sesame Soft Serve

Fujipan | CBD

Soft serves seem to be taking over the Sydney food scene, don’t they?

Fujipan is a Japanese bakery that sells some pretty fabulous baked goods. Recently, they started selling matcha/black sesame flavoured soft serves and I was determined to try it since black sesame is one of my favourite ice cream flavours! It almost hit the spot, but not quite. The soft serve was a little on the icy side but stayed true to its black sesame flavour.

Fujipan Japanese Bakery on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

