Tounaya | Eastwood, Sydney

As someone who usually sports short to medium length hair, it’s never a surprise to my friends when I get a hair cut they are so used to me going back and forth from medium length hair to a bob cut. It’s my hair cycle – and right now, I got a new hair cut and chopped it all off! Nice, short, and breezy. I love short hair because I was always ready to hide behind my hair when I was younger and it sort of gives me a boost in confidence, if that makes sense? Cause you have to put that extra effort to make it look good. I don’t know why I am talking about hair on a food blog but I guess the point to extract is that jumping into something new and unfamiliar is a pretty exciting thing! And that’s why I love going into relatively new restaurants around my area knowing very little to nothing about them since there’s so little reviews to judge off! That’s the mindset I had as I entered Tounoya in Eastwood, not knowing much except that it has a Hello Kitty karaoke room and serves Japanese food from the restaurant front.

Cosy!

The restaurant is pretty spacious and big which is expected, because it houses a few karaoke rooms for those who want to belt their feelings out over some yummy food. I personally like to keep the two separate because I get way too into singing and it becomes a whole workout, which isn’t recommended right after a meal. Anyway, love the polished, cosy and clean look! We opted for a booth that came with an iPad for us to order food on (this seems to be pretty common nowadays in the newer Japanese restaurants, eh?).

Beef Tataki

One of my many, many favourite Japanese foods – beef tataki! Don’t let the redness of the meat scare you, it’s 100% safe to eat! I’ve been eating it since I could remember, it’s a family favourite. Imagine a thinly sliced, most tender piece of quality beef topped with (usually) ponzu sauce – a soy and citrus based sauce. Heaven in your mouth! That being said, Tounoya serves good beef tataki but seriously, I’ve never had a bad one in my life. Except maybe when they mess up my sauce.

Cold Soba

My saviour in the Summer – cheap but delicious cold noodles dipped in the dipping sauce (mentsuyu), where I put plenty of wasabi in. However, don’t expect to get full on just this, it’s a pretty light meal that is great on the side.

Kim Chi Fried Rice

This was really just a stomach-filler, to be honest. Not that it’s bad or anything but I am very rarely impressed by fried rice because restaurants have tough competition to beat because my parents’ fried rice dishes are pretty badass.

Gyoza

Hey, nothing wrong with a little bit of fried dumpling goodness!

Seaweed Salad

Seriously, Japanese sauces are the BOMB. I’m not a huge salad eater but if you give it to me with that Japanese salad dressing, I will eat all the greens! Japanese salads can’t go wrong.

Iced Green Tea Latte

Very mediocre, lacking the green tea taste and tasted very watered down.

Dessert Platter (Yoghurts with Fruits)

One of those classic cases of ‘do it for the photo’ and ‘looks better than it tastes’. It’s really just small shot glasses of yoghurt with a little bit of sauce or fruit on the top to give it the extra fruity taste.

Green Tea Panna Cotta

It’s like the semi-solid version of those tea pot milk teas! The three of us really enjoyed this one, it has a subtle green tea taste but had great contrast in texture with the crispy chocolate biscuit pieces and the creaminess of the panna cotta itself. CONCLUSION: Eastwood is a hub of great Asian food, so how does Tounoya compare to all the other similar Japanese restaurants? Now, the food and service wasn’t particularly great but I can imagine people coming here for the spaciousness and the karaoke feature. THEY HAVE A ONE PIECE AND HELLO KITTY ROOM! However, because of the karaoke room, it is extremely distracting and noisy for those who just want to dine in. Other than that, mediocre food, though by no means bad. Address: 169-171 Rowe Street, Eastwood NSW 2122 Opening hours: Sunday-Thursday: 11.30am – 11.30pm; Friday-Saturday: 11.30am-12.00am Tounoya on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

