Circa Espresso | Parramatta, Sydney

Just because I took the day off work because I am sick doesn’t mean I can’t write a blog post! Worked 6 days this week – I think I just had a clue of what it’s like to be a full-time working adult. Definitely a bit more physically challenging than being a full-time university student but hey, I’m enjoying it so far! I’ve always enjoyed working a lot more than studying – $$$ is motivating. Because with more money, means more food adventures! That being said, I guess I’ve been going on too many of these adventures since my bank account is looking a bit slim. Payday, why are you still a few days away?!

But let’s look back to a blissful time when Jenny still had money and entered this neat little cafe tucked away in the suburb of Parramatta, where she found one of her loves.

Like a cool study room!

I will never get bored of the interior of a cool, rustic sort of cafe. Hope you guys don’t mind these abstract, close-up photos… the lens I usually use died (I shed many tears). Anyway, Circa Espresso has a pretty cool, study-room feel sort of interior with some dim lighting which I didn’t really enjoy too much because dim lighting means dim photos.

Before I get to my photos, I unfortunately lost my receipt and because there’s no menu or references online for most of these dishes – I had to improvise. So… the names and prices are not 100% correct and just from my very bad memory.

Iced Long Black – $3.50

Unfortunately, I couldn’t get the cold-drip because they’ve been away on holiday for the past week or so and the espresso can take days to prepare, so I settled for the Iced Long Black which was good enough for me. But still need to come back for the cold-drip because I imagine it to be much richer!

Lamb Shoulder Sandwich  – $15.00

Basically an awesome, fat sandwich with plenty of delicious sauce and just… a lot of deliciousness. With the lamb shoulder at the bottom and tons of great vegetables such as eggplant and zucchini and rocket – great for those whose looking for some filling.

Chicken Salad – $15.00

Okay, sorry I’m sure it wasn’t really called chicken salad, but it was the most creative name I could think of (the struggles of not having access to their menu…). This salad was definitely one of the most interesting ones I’ve had – full of different flavours: savoury, sweet and sour – got the whole package! My friend who ordered it didn’t really enjoy it because it was a tad ‘funky’, as she would put it. So I wouldn’t recommend this one for those who don’t like strong flavours. On the other hand, I quite enjoyed it! The chicken was soaked with flavour, the beetroot gave a nice sweet element to it, the citrus fruit gave it the extra tang and the cheese made it beautifully salty (try to eat it with something else!).

French Toast – $15.00

On the rare occasion that I crave for something sweet – this beautiful existence comes into my life. Firstly, let’s talk about how freaking attractive it looks: what a colourful and inviting dish! Since I’m such a sucker for the good-looking ones (we’re talking about food here), it was love at first sight. My love for it only deepened with each bite – the best french toast I’ve ever had (yes, better than Three Williams). What I love about it is that it’s a great balance between sweet and sour: the caramelised banana, sauce vs the sweet/sourness of the blueberries and strawberries made my day. On top of that, the french toast was nice and soft, and not too thick! The different textures achieved from the crumbled nuts and the rest of the dish made each bite offer a different experience. Needless to say, I thoroughly enjoyed this.

Toastie – $12.00

Here’s a classic toastie that really can’t go wrong – crispy outside with a delicious, soft centre!

CONCLUSION: Circa Espresso, without a doubt, is a small little treasure in the West that needs to be visited by everyone who lives around that area. Great, unique selection of food and very decent coffee! The french toast is something I would come back for, over and over again. Very down-to-earth and friendly service! Also important to note that the kitchen closes early (around 2pm, I think?) so you better get in before then – the whole menu sounds pretty awesome so you might have a hard time choosing.

Recommended dish(es): FRENCH TOAST FOR LIFE

Address: 21 Wentworth St, Parramatta, NSW

Opening Hours: Monday – Friday: 7.00am – 4.00pm; Saturday – Sunday: 8.00am – 3.00pm

Circa on Urbanspoon

6 thoughts on “Circa Espresso | Parramatta, Sydney

Leave a Reply

