Won San | Eastwood, Sydney

This place got me excited because I thought Eastwood had a new Korean restaurant since I haven’t seen the name Won San before on the Korean side of Eastwood. So my friend and I sat down, excited to try a new place only to realise that it was just Arisana but with a new name and possibly a new management team, maybe? But looks like they serve the same stuff, anyway.

The first time I came here when it was still called Arisana, I wasn’t very impressed with the food. Maybe it was because we ordered the huuuuuge dishes to share between like 10 people or something that made it not that impressive, but I thought I would never have the need to come back. But we already sat down so it was too late. Either way, this place was pretty popular, especially for a weekday during lunchtime so we gave it a go anyway.

Korean Side Dishes ON DA HOUSE and some sauces which I didn’t really use.

I’ll be honest. I judge Korean restaurants quite heavily on the side dishes they give us AND I MEAN LIKE…….. Y’KNOW. THIS IS PRETTY PATHETIC. Where my kim chi or my potato, man?

Deep Fried Garlic and Chilli Chicken – $24.00 (M)

So first came this BEAUTIFUL, DEEP FRIED HEAVEN. Garlic and chilli – best combination – what is there not to love? And c’mon, it’s deep fried to perfection. Too bad there was way too much for the two of us. Honestly, I don’t know what we were thinking when we ordered 3 dishes.

Chicken Noodle Soup – $12.00 (S)

This was perfect for a cold winter day. It came out steaming hot and the broth was so good. Nice and flavoursome, with a sort of fungi taste? Either way, I really liked it since the chicken was tender and just a great noodle soup in general. Again, this was huge even though it’s size small.

(Also, I’m not exactly sure what this was called and if $12.00 is the right amount since my memory is super rusty.)

Black Bean Noodles – $12.00 (S)

LOOK. AT. THAT. How beautiful does that look? Though, I’ll have to admit, I’m not a big fan of Korean Black Bean Noodles since I think it’s a bit too sweet for my liking so you probably can’t count on my opinion. Nonetheless, it’s a very popular dish and again, there’s probably way too much noodle and sauce but I suppose that’s a good thing for people who want a guaranteed meal that will fill them up.

VERDICT:  Needless to say, this time was much better than my first experience at this place. So I guess it really depends on what you order. The dishes here are definitely larger than normal, so you can be guaranteed to be full for an okay price. Would I come here again? Nah, not really. There’s better Korean restaurants in Eastwood. But they do have good options to cater for large amounts of people so I would definitely recommend this place for large, affordable dinners and stuff.

Date Visited: 17th July, 2014

Address: 108 Rowe St, Eastwood NSW 212
Won San on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

