The Hardware Societe | CBD, Melbourne

Okay, for the first blog post of my long-awaited food blog, I had to start off with something awesome. Even if this place is in Melbourne… and I know most of you readers (the very few that I have) are from Sydney, this is a place that you must put down on your future Melbourne itinerary.

Although during my Melbourne trip, I failed to go to many of the places I had planned to go because time restrictions, I am so glad we Google Map’d our way here. Anything for good food, right?

Cake cabinet with awesome funky flavours?!
I swear Melbourne has all the cool lights.

We came at around 11.30am for brunch and no surprise, there was a line. The cafe was already very busy and crowded, definitely not a place I would sit down and relax with a coffee and read a book or something. However, we were greeted by some friendly staff and only waited around 15 minutes (in contrast to the 1hr wait at Hu Tong Dumpling… a place I never got to visit).

Cool stuff on sale.
Look at that wooden table. And that water bottle. Just, look at it.

Okay, I’m a huge sucker for wooden tables and just wooden stuff in general. How cute but simple is the table decoration?

Flat White – $3.50
Soy Latte – $4.00 (soy coffees never look good, okay…)

Coffee at a Melbourne cafe is a must. For me, my soy latte was the start of a beautiful and unforgettable relationship between me and Melbourne coffee. Okay, sure it looks a bit …strange compared to the BEAUTIFUL coffee art on my friend’s flat white, BUT THE COFFEE WAS SO GOOD. The milk was perfectly textured for a latte and the coffee was gone before the meal came out. Someone, please take me back…

Banana Loaf with Cinnamon/Vanilla Sauce – $15.00

First came my friend’s Banana Loaf which was basically banana bread with fruits and sauce, which was plated nicely as you can see. Nothing like food that tastes good and looks good!

Scrambled Eggs with Salmon, Avocado and Stuff on Toast – $18.00

Sorry for my crappy caption but I honestly couldn’t find the menu online for this particular dish – it seems The Hardware Societe makes small changes to their menu quite frequently. Okay, I’m actually allergic to salmon but trust my friend’s opinion instead: the salmon was a bit too salty but the avocado was nice. And both of us agreed that the scrambled eggs are just ….so good, just the right combination of milk and egg and scrambly-ness.

Baked Eggs with Chorizo, Cherry Tomato & Thyme Salsa, Crunchy Almonds and Goats Milk Cheese a.k.a. Heaven in Your Mouth – $16.00

I left the best for last.  Let’s get this straight though, I love eggs. And even more so, I love baked eggs so this was a real treat for me. There were so many different textures; the softness of the baked egg, the chewiness of the chorizo and the crunchiness of the almonds – I was in love. I expected it to be pretty salty because of the chorizo but it wasn’t, it was just right! The salsa was nice and sort of added a sweet taste to it. I cleaned the pot with the bread that came with the dish, soaking up all the juicy goodness.

VERDICT: Awesome food, awesome atmosphere and lovely warm interior for a cold Melbourne day. The baked eggs and coffee stole my heart. The service was decent too, lovely down-to-earth people. Definitely a place I would recommend all my friends who are in/going to Melbourne!

 

Date Visited: 2nd July, 2014

Address: 120 Hardware St, Melbourne VIC 3000

The Hardware Société on Urbanspoon

4 thoughts on “The Hardware Societe | CBD, Melbourne

Leave a Reply

