[ ARCHIVES ] 22/06/2013: Papparich, Chatswood

Soy Milk with Grass Jelly and Soy Milk with Pudding

【Restaurant · Papparich, Chatswood】【Photographer · Me】

Nasi Lemak Curry Chicken
Pappa Chicken Rice
Pappa Char Kuay Teow

About the Restaurant: FINALLY! Finally, I came here. I remember when Papparich first opened, there were queues that extended outside the waiting area and beyond. Even though there were still a considerable amount of people waiting to be seated this time when I went, I luckily had more time (seeing as I just finished exams!) and I had determination to eat here today, and waiting time was only around 15 minutes or so? Though we did have to sit outside in the cold weather but the heaters made it bearable.

Anyway, quite a lovely interior, pretty homely and comfortable. My friend and I, once we opened the menu, was particularly impressed by the photography (that’s always a plus for menus), clearly showing us what to expect, and also the variety of drinks! So that was pretty exciting! And after 15 minutes of strenuous thinking and important decision making, my friend and I decided to order Matcha Rocks (not pictured, sorry) and Soy Milk with Pudding. I did not expect the Matcha Rocks (which is basically a iced green tea latte with green tea ice cream on top and red bean) to be made of soy milk, it was my first time trying it, a bit bland at first but as the ice cream melted, it tasted better. I loved the Soy Milk with Pudding! And I also loved the Nasi Lemak with Curry Chicken, particularly the curry sauce and the tenderness of the chicken. The Pappa Rich Chicken came with chicken broth, bean sprouts, chicken and chicken oil rice (chicken overload, today). The chicken broth was alright and definitely did its job in warming me up; the chicken was pretty good and had lovely smooth skin (my favourite). And I’ve always been a fan of chicken oil rice, they even put little bits of ginger which really spiced it up. My other friend also ordered Soy Milk with Grass Jelly and Pappa Char Kuay Teow.

So, after this, my friends and I will be running back soon to try all the other dishes and hopefully some of the dessert and roti next time. The food and dishes were at a relatively reasonable price and came in good proportions. Based on the food I had today, I was pretty impressed and almost everything was served pretty quickly! Overall, great place to eat and enjoy some nice food for good value.

Food: ★★★☆☆

Service: ★★★☆☆

Value: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

