[ ARCHIVES ] 21/5/2013: Saigon Bowl, Strathfield

Crispy Chicken with Tomato Rice

【Restaurant · Saigon Bowl, Strathfield】【Photographer · Me】

Pho Tai
Marinated Pork with Vermicelli

About the Restaurant: After an exhausting day at the school athletics carnival and then 3.5 hours of Economics tutoring… my friends and I needed some good food. So, we head to Strathfield… and head to the Vietnamese restaurant (among all the Korean ones), Saigon Bowl. It was surprisingly busy for  Tuesday night, almost all seats were full. Luckily, we only had to wait around 10 minutes for a table for 3.

I absolutely love Viet food – can’t think of a single dish I wouldn’t eat (that I’m not allergic to…)! But Pho Tai is always a favourite… but really, I love all of their noodle in soups. The good thing about Saigon Bowl’s Pho Tai is that I didn’t have that MSG after taste I usually get, and the flavour of the soup isn’t too overwhelming. The skin on the Crispy Chicken lived up to its name and the chicken meat was tender; I gobbled it up within seconds. Last but not least, the Marinated Pork with Vermicelli… this was pretty mediocre, but then again I don’t usually get vermicelli dishes when I go to Viet restaurants. 

Food was served quickly and presented neatly; I also enjoyed the atmosphere and the modern, wooden interior of the restaurant which would definitely differentiate it from other Vietnamese restaurants. Definitely will go there if I am ever in the area again.

Food: ★★★★☆

Service: ★★★☆☆

Value: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

